A Little Bite of Sentence.

I reread the blog I wrote last week while swimming 18 minutes, ok a couple hours, in my sea of misery and self-loathing. This morning when I woke up (don’t ask why I set an alarm for 6 when I don’t have to work until 11), I noticed I had fallen prey, captive to, victim of, a common and current compositional conundrum. The overuse of the “.”. That’s right. Those short. Sentences. That require you to stop and take a breath with every. Last. Thought. As if it was to make you truly think harder about what you’re reading.

Is it working? Are you thinking really hard about what you just read? Well you shouldn’t be, because it was of little to no value. But perhaps this sentence will be. Oh, no that one was not either. I have noticed this trend popping up all over the internet, blogs everywhere no longer grappling with the classic run-on sentences and instead reverting to the path of the short sentence statements. Here is an elephant picture that has nothing to do with anything like most of the sentences in this blog. But, it sure makes you think, doesn’t it? 

I would love to write a few good run-on sentences to counteract my desire to stop short in the middle of typing and insert one of these. But, alas. I have forgotten how. My pinky finger just swoops in to grab that period whenever there is a little open space in a place I want you to think about what you just read. Or I want to make myself seem really artsy and fun as though I haven’t planned what I am typing before I am typing it. Well, that’s because I haven’t. I am a go-with-the-flow kinda girl. See. Look. Going. With. The Flow. Wow, I had no idea I was going to type that.

Thank goodness for pinkies.

Thank goodness for periods.

Happy Father’s Day!

What other short fragments, tidbits, and bobs do I have? Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious (is the sound of that not atrocious?). Antidisestablishmentarianism. No, I looked neither of those up on Google. I am just that good at one word sentences.

Following this path of deep affinity
the magnetism of DNA

The truth of openness
The delight of discovery
The invention of new taste sensations
kindred souls

Find each other.
in this vast universe

You do exist!

Leave a Reply

